Titus 3 – Ask your self….if you dare

Below I have two translations of Titus 3, I have highlighted in red the areas where I have been covicted and ask that you pray for and with me that I may be this woman that Christ deserves me to be. The blue highlighted area is where I would like to ask you to reply to….. are you someone that gets heated during debates about denominations? Do you avoid any such conversation? WHY? Is your way the only Way to Heaven?

Another question I have for you is, does this scripture convict you in other areas of your life? Can you, like I do read a passage and ask God to show you how this applies to your life?  Under the scriptures I will continue with how the red areas have convicted me……….hope this in some way encourages you.

 

NIV = Titus 3

Doing What is Good

 1Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, 2to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men. 

 3At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another. 4But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, 5he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, 6whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, 7so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life. 8This is a trustworthy saying. And I want you to stress these things, so that those who have trusted in God may be careful to devote themselves to doing what is good. These things are excellent and profitable for everyone. 

 9But avoid foolish controversies and genealogies and arguments and quarrels about the law, because these are unprofitable and useless. 10Warn a divisive person once, and then warn him a second time. After that, have nothing to do with him. 11You may be sure that such a man is warped and sinful; he is self-condemned. 

Titus 3 (The Message)

Titus 3

He Put Our Lives Together

 1-2Remind the people to respect the government and be law-abiding, always ready to lend a helping hand. No insults, no fights. God’s people should be bighearted and courteous. 

 3-8It wasn’t so long ago that we ourselves were stupid and stubborn, dupes of sin, ordered every which way by our glands, going around with a chip on our shoulder, hated and hating back. But when God, our kind and loving Savior God, stepped in, he saved us from all that. It was all his doing; we had nothing to do with it. He gave us a good bath, and we came out of it new people, washed inside and out by the Holy Spirit. Our Savior Jesus poured out new life so generously. God’s gift has restored our relationship with him and given us back our lives. And there’s more life to come—an eternity of life! You can count on this. 

 8-11I want you to put your foot down. Take a firm stand on these matters so that those who have put their trust in God will concentrate on the essentials that are good for everyone. Stay away from mindless, pointless quarreling over genealogies and fine print in the law code. That gets you nowhere. Warn a quarrelsome person once or twice, but then be done with him. It’s obvious that such a person is out of line, rebellious against God. By persisting in divisiveness he cuts himself off. 

My convictions: 

 to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, 2to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men.

All men(women)…yes wives/husbands this means to our husbands/wives as well. I recently have asked my husband to leave our home due to our constant quarreling. Not the healthly growing kind of quarreling either. This has turned back into the “go for the jugular” quarreling. Jesus tells us in Mark 9:42-50 That if there is a part of you that is causing you to sin, then cut it off…it is better to enter the kingdom of God with one eye then not at all. I have to take my salvation seriously, and if living in the same household as my husband is causing me to sin daily – then I have to cut it off. ***(Does this mean I immediately opt for divorce? NO! As Titus 3:10 states (as well as additional scripture) “Warn a quarrelsome person once or twice” not to mention that God HATES divorce. That is not why He created marriage. Please understand I am not saying divorce is not premissable, there are unfortunately times when a marriage has died in the eyes of the Lord, and personally I believe God releases us from this death. However, if you are asking others if they think you should get a divorce, then I have to tell you to STOP asking others what you should do in your marriage and go to GOD. Only He can release you from the union of marraige, IF that’s what He wants from you, than you will know it. He will make it crystal clear. That is how Our God works. He doesn’t try to play mind games with us, that is all flesh.)***  It has only been 24 hours since he has left our home, and after much needed one on one time with God, I have been able to see where I have not been humble toward all men. I am humble towards everyone else I come into contact with except the most intimate human relationship I am bound to have in this life, my husband. Sometimes we have to remove ourselves from a situation (cut it off) in order to ask God our part in the sin. I believe we typically have a part in the sin we have in our lives.

Friends, I am not trying to justify my temporary seperation from my husband. What I am trying to do is encourage those who suffer the same unequally yoked marriages that I do. Those that suffer with guilt, bc they have truly tried to live a Godly life as a spouse and have repeatedly failed. Take back your walk, take back your security with God and look at the things you can change in the situation. We are human….we will have trouble in this life….and there is nothing more that the evil one wants then to think we are inadequate to fight for Gods honor, in His Sons name. That we are not living the (dare I say it) “Christian life”.  

 Why have I admitted all this? Basically air my laundry to everyone that cares to look? Nt so that I can gain from it, but that you may be able to gain, grow, and teach from it. In a lot of leadership roles today we are afraid to “admit” how we royally mess up at times. We are “leaders” we are discipling other young Christians so we have a HUGE responsibilty in living a “Christian life”. Guess what….a “Christian life” is one that is filled, yes filled, with SIN.  

There I said it so you won’t have to. WE ARE ALL SINNERS IN NEED OF A SAVIOR! ALL OF US, leaders, pastors, elders, and I have to stress this new believers and young Christians NEED us to tell them our sin as well. They need to know that the storms that they are going through, we too have done, or are doing. This will help us to teach them to lean on one another. Not to withdraw from the church out of shame, but to come to each other and ask for prayer, guidance, and love….as well as help guide us through our own storms. We are never going to be beyond teaching, and if anyone thinks that they are….well I’m praying that you hear me when I tell you….YOU just might be the one that causes a young Christian to walk away.  

 This post has as most of my writings do, gotten off subject than orginally intended. What I hope the Holy Spirit has done is reached one person, and encouraged them in their walk. If that is you then thank you for allowing my hurt to help you!

God chose you, which means I choose you! Love you!

One thought on “Titus 3 – Ask your self….if you dare

  1. Take back your walk, take back your security with God and look at the things you can change in the situation. We are human….we will have trouble in this life….and there is nothing more that the evil one wants then to think we are inadequate to fight for Gods honor, in His Sons name. That we are not living the (dare I say it) “Christian life”.

    LOVE that!

Leave a Reply

