Jesus speaks and it’s DONE!

Jesus speaks and it’s DONE!

Earlier today I posted on my Facebook status that it will be 3 years since God radically transformed my life and took away my addiction to alcohol. Tonight during service Pastor Kedrick taught on John 4:43-54 and during his message he spoke those words above. I smiled as I thought about what I had posted only a few hours earlier thinking about the exact moment when Jesus spoke and changed my life.

It was May 1, 2009 roughly between 6:30-7:00pm. I was driving home on the turnpike having an arguement with God over me drinking that night with my very best friend. Obviously it was a one sided argument, as God just quietly listened to me throw a tantrum. I would go on and on about how it was ridiculious that my other friend didn’t want to ride with me if I had any drinks, knowing that I only planned on having a few beers which any alcoholic can tell you a few beers is like eating a single hershy kiss for desert. When I would say “what’s the big deal” I would then hear calmly “why do you have to drink”. Which would send me back into another fit of endless excuses as to why I wanted to drink. About 15-20 minutes into it a song called “Sissy’s song” came on the radio and I heard “You’re going to lose them if you do this” them being my children, right then I said “NO” and started bawling. I pleaded with God and told Him how sorry I was and chose to do the Red Bull thing instead.

Three years later I can proudly tell you that I have enjoyed one glass of wine with a friend of mine, almost let the enemy defeat me a couple others, but as the Word tells us there is no temptation too great that God does not give us a way out. Choosing to take it when it comes is the part we must choose to take. Except for those few times I have been alcohol free. And I used to drink every single day. Not just a glass or two. I would finish an entire large bottle of wine or 6 pack alone. I won’t even say how much I’d drink when I left the house.

I honestly had nothing to do with that radical transformation. I tried countless of times before to quit drinking and couldn’t. That day Jesus spoke to my heart, which at the moment was my children, and it was done. Gone. In an instant. Truly in an instant. The times when I almost slipped wasn’t because I craved the drink. It was because I hurt, and I wanted to hurt myself. The reason I wanted to write this blog is because I want people to know how powerful Jesus truly is. Nothing in my life ever gave me the inner peace that I now have. NOTHING!!!

I pray that you reading this have a personal relationship with Jesus, and have accepted the Gift of Grace God freely wants to GIVE you through this relationship with His Son. If you don’t and would like one, please message me and I would love to pray with you and possibly study Gods word together. If you’re not plugged into a church I know a GREAT one you can check out at www.getreallife.com let Jesus change your life like He’s changed mine.

~sometimes I just gotta write~

One thought on “Jesus speaks and it’s DONE!

Leave a Reply

