Gentle Whispers

The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.” Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave. Then the voice said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” – 1 King 19:11-13

I’ve mentioned a few weeks ago that I was in a “dry season”, that I know God is with me but I cannot feel His overwhelming presence. This morning I asked whom God would have me pray for and after I prayed I let her know I did so. Her response “Oh my gosh Crystal, how did you know I needed it?” I told her I asked and he told me. Then she said something that really stood out to me, “you discern Him so well”. This isn’t the first time I’ve heard this, but this morning I allowed this to be the Word I had been seeking.

As I continued driving home I said God how is it I can hear you for everyone else but I struggle when to hear you for me? I then asked her and another woman to pray for me to be able to hear Him for myself…and shortly after, as I sit on my porch, I felt a cool breeze and a gentle whisper, “I’m so proud of you for being a good encourager”.

Tears fill my eyes as I write that because I KNOW that He spoke to me, I didn’t have an overwhelming rush through my body, the sky didn’t open up, the earth didn’t shake. It was a gentle whisper, in my mind, in my voice, that told me “I am proud of you for being a good encourager.” God is proud of me. My ultimate Father is proud of me. Truly I am overwhelmed with joy because although I don’t feel I have done anything for Him to be proud of, He still is.

Ladies, I urge you to quiet your minds and allow Gods whispers to speak to you. Serve other ladies with the gifts that you have. If you’re unaware of what gifts you posses, ask God to show you. He gives wisdom to those who ask…so ASK! And you shall receive. These are not just catchy phrases ladies, these are TRUTHS…guides for you and me to seek Him. To know Him. For Him to Love on you. And He so desperately wants to simply LOVE you…in a personal, deep, intimate way.

The world wants you to believe that you must DO something to deserve His love. His Word says simply believe and it is ALL yours. The ‘doing’ part is what happens when your heart has been healed and you WANT to do because you realize so much was GIVEN to you. So yes, they do go hand in hand…but let me assure you that God knows when you simply need to be loved on. He wants us to take time alone, He wants us to be kind to ourselves. He wants us to be still long enough so His whispers are heard and not drowned out by the world.

He Loves you so much. Won’t you let Him whisper to you today!

~sometimes I just gotta write~

3 thoughts on “Gentle Whispers

Leave a Reply

