When our guidlines become barriers…

 He replied, “Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!” John 9:25NIV84

The Pharisees hated Jesus and several times accused Him of being demon possessed. Yet, the man that was born blind and healed on the Sabbath didn’t care what anyone told him, He KNEW who he was before Jesus and he KNEW who he was after Jesus. Jesus healed this man on the Sabbath and if you know anything about the Law of the Old Testament you would know that this was against the rules.

This makes me wonder about the laws or rules that we still carry around today within the church. Ones that we may not realize we live by, most likely because they bring us comfort. We need structure, a set of guidelines to live by so we know what’s permitted and what’s not. These guidelines are typically good, until they’re not. 

This morning I had a conversation with a friend about a woman pastor. My Spirit comes alive when I read this woman’s posts and I am learning to trust my Spirit over what the world says. So when I sent my friend some information about this woman having a free seminar and she replied that she had a bad feeling about her I was set back. Mainly because my friend and I have been Spiritually linked in a way that only God can understand. As she began to explain why she had an uneasy feeling about her I realized that it sounded like one of those “guidelines” that has been ingrained in us. “They call her Pastor, and I don’t agree with that” I asked “Because she’s a woman?” her reply “YES” I respect my friend, so I wanted to see what the definition of Pastor is before I replied, and this is what I found on dictionary.com “a person having spiritual care of a number of persons.” this was the second answer…this one made sense to me as to why people would call this woman Pastor. But it was the first answer that I believe my friend, among many others….including myself at times gets stuck on. It says: “a minister or priest in charge of a church.”

And we know that men are the ones who are in charge of a church….right? Well…depends on how you’re viewing this. From the worlds view…then yes that would be the typical response. BUT…what if we shifted views for a minute. JESUS is in charge of the “Church”. And JESUS lives in ME and I am a woman….so if JESUS instructed me to minister to HIS CHURCH of believers would I have to say NO because the WORLD said it wasn’t ok? We as Christians know that the Holy Spirit would not ask you to do anything that contradicts the Written Word of God, well the written Word says that ALL MEN AND WOMEN will prophesy and HIS SPIRIT will be poured out on us ALL.

So…I ask you this if a woman or child came to you with a message from God would you listen or turn them away? I pray you would listen. Discernment is a gift that God will give you if you ask Him to. Remember we are ALL Gods children, and each of us are a reflection of His Glory. Just as the blind man said….”Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. ONE THING I DO KNOW. I WAS BLIND BUT NOW I SEE!”

Jesus broke all the typical rules that would display He was our King….let’s not put Him back in a box and miss the chance to see!

 

 

One thought on “When our guidlines become barriers…

Leave a Reply

