What responsibility do you think we have to those who do not know the knowledge of God?

“Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a man commits are outside his body, but he who sins sexually sins against his own body. 1 Corinthians 6:18

I could focus on this verse alone…but I would be taking this out of context and using it to justify my beliefs. If you continue with the text Paul reminds those in Corinth that they have the Holy Spirit living in them and they ought to honor their bodies and not defile it with immoral acts.

I wanted to look up the definition of the root word for immorality “moral” and it repeats several times “the conduct of right and wrong”. I then hear my science professor in college say, when speaking of those who believe in Darwinism, “by what standards do they measure what is right and wrong?” Which added a twist to what I thought this post was going to be about.

Romans 1:18-32 Paul is discussing God’s Wrath against Mankind. He tells us how the people turned from worshiping God and began worshiping created things. in verse 24 Paul says: ‘Therefore, God gave them over in their sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. As you continue in the text he describes the homosexual acts that the men and women gave into. It says in verse 25 that ‘They exchanged the truth of God for a lie,’ Again in 26, it says ‘God gave them over to shameful lusts.’ and again verse 28 Furthermore, since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what ought not to be done.

This last verse leaves me with a question for those of us who do find it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God. What responsibility do you think we have to those who do not know the knowledge of God?

Are we not commanded to LOVE our neighbors as we love ourselves? Do we not strive to live a life Holy as our Father who is in Heaven? Do we not believe that we are being transformed to reflect the image of Christ? The One who knows above all “right and wrong” If you and I say ‘yes’ to these questions listed, then I wonder to what extent we will be held responsible for those placed in our sphere of influence that live these lives that are immoral, and yet we turn our backs or point our fingers at them. The song by Casting Crowns “Jesus Friend of Sinners” comes to mind when I think about this topic because it says: “Nobody knows what we’re for only what we’re against when we judge the wounded” And someone who lives a life deprived of Gods knowledge is pretty wounded if you ask me.

So what do we do? Well LOVE seems to be the main area that we all need to begin to focus on. But how do we do that? How can we change our thinking about those in same sex relationships, when we as Christ followers know this is not how it was intended? Well here is something that God placed in my heart and I have shared several times with others who have asked me what they should do because they have a friend who is in a same sex relationship. I then ask them if they have any Christian friends that are sexually active, and I ask them what they are doing in those relationships? This question is usually all that’s needed to remove the label of “homosexual sin” and allowed the “sexual sin” be revealed. Sin is sin. I have yet to find the passage where Jesus tells us that each sin is judged on a different scale. I am more than open to correction though.

When we as a Body of believers are able to realize that we are ALL sinners in need of a savior, and that Savior has given us His Spirit in order that we display His Love to all people, then I truly believe we will begin to see those who are unaware of the knowledge of God come to seek His ways. But until we are able to truly LOVE as He LOVES, I can’t blame them for not wanting to be apart of this Body. Who wants to be condemned by another person? Who wants to come to a group of people who themselves live in hypocrisy because we bash those who are far off from our view of what God says is good, and condone the not so bad sins that we as believers commit daily?

Friends, those who live by The New Testament as our new covenant we are told in Romans 15:1,2 “We who are strong have an obligation to bear with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves. Let each of us please his neighbor for his good, to build him up.”  We have been given a new heart, a new Spirit, the same Spirit that lived within Our Savior. Perhaps it’s time we strengthen this Spirit by loving those who are weaker than us in Gods view of right and wrong. Perhaps this means we must first look within our hearts and ask God to reveal to us where He has left us to our own depraved thinking. Let us judge our own thoughts and actions, and then as His Spirit leads let us then reflect His image to those around us.

~sometimes I just gotta write~

 

6 thoughts on “What responsibility do you think we have to those who do not know the knowledge of God?

  1. It is so easy for us to judge sin that we don’t struggle with.

    This causes so many people to look at “Christianity” and say no thanks. I love how 1 Peter 4:8 tells us that love covers a multitude of sins. Our love towards others can lead a person to repentance. If that’s not beautiful I don’t know what is. Jesus’ love lead us to repentance. For that I am overwhelmed with thanksgiving.

    • You and me both! Reading Romans 1:18-32 with different eyes yesterday had me thinking all day about how critical I can be towards someone who doesn’t have His Spirit within them to help guide them, when I myself having His Spirit and His word constantly at my finger tips, yet still find myself falling short. If I’m to love them as myself and I give myself Grace then I’ve got to be able to extend Grace also. This doesn’t mean obviously we condone wrong behavior, but possibly be less repelled by it. We were accepted right where we were when we came to Christ, I want to learn to love like that.

Leave a Reply

