Oh How He Loves US!

image

He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him. 2 Corinthians 5:21

Last week during Bible study we discussed the Garden of Gethsemane for a brief moment. I believe today this moment was brief because God knew the impact this was having within me and it was a process that He wants me to swallow slowly. Even as I write this my eyes are filled with tears.

The Garden of Gethsemane
36 Then Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane, and said to His disciples, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” 37 And He took with Him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and began to be grieved and distressed. 38 Then He said to them, “My soul is deeply grieved, to the point of death ; remain here and keep watch with Me.” 39 And He went a little beyond them, and fell on His face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; yet not as I will, but as You will.” Matthew 26:36-39

Up until this moment I have always imagined these moments of grief were due to the upcoming torture He would endure for us. Which I still agree this was partially true. But what the Spirit opened my eyes and heart to was what this first scripture says. Jesus didn’t just take our sin from us, but he BECAME SIN. Our sins became His own.

Think about the worst moment of guilt you’ve ever endured, now try to acknowledge the guilt of a murder of a child, a rapist, and so on. They personally may not ever feel guilty but you know that the man Jesus bore their guilt, every single sin EVER He became. And still as He hung on that cross bleeding and suffocating to death, He cried out to God “Father forgive them for they do not know what they are doing.”

People ask “Where is God in all this suffering?” Today I pray for these people, I pray that they encounter a supernatural love that over powers the darkness within them. See my friends, these people who are ‘evil’ in your eyes, are children in the eyes of our God. Jesus took their sins also, so when Jesus said ‘love your enemies’ He meant it because the thing is, He LOVES them just as much as He loves you and me.

“Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13

Father God, Thank you! My Lord Jesus Christ, Thank you! I love you! More than I can even comprehend, I love you! And yet you love me more!

love someone today, especially yourself, forgive someone today, especially yourself, Jesus DOES!

2 thoughts on “Oh How He Loves US!

  1. In Matt 26:39 the “Cup” Jesus is referring to is the sorrow he will feel when sin separates him from His Father.(Isaiah 59:1-2). Thanks for reminded us the price paid for our sin. NO CONDEMNATION!

    • Agreed. And what’s been revealed to me which I’ve never considered is that during this time of separation our guilt He bore. All of our sins He became, the Father no longer there to provide the protection from the guilt and condemnation, the mental anguish of all sin causes me to truly begin to understand, at least a small portion, of what He did for us. How much love He truly has to take all of that as His own so we would no longer suffer the separation from the Father. Its overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

