Are you perfect?

Therefore you are to be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect. Matthew 5:48

That’s a text we don’t usually hear preached in services. Yet it still remains to be in the Bible and if we claim to follow Jesus and all that He tells us to do then I have to wonder why this is a text that so many fear quoting. Perhaps they figure if they don’t teach on it then they can be free to not follow it. Many people who have taught me in the past definitely do not believe it’s possible to even do. They always say “Only Jesus is perfect.” And they are partially correct. Jesus is perfect, and so are we, when we come to believe that He removed ALL of our transgressions, taken them out of our way nailing them to the cross.

If a tree had fallen in the road this would cause me to be unable to cross the road. If the tree were taken out of my way then I would be free to cross the road. So why is it when we read Colossians 2:13,14 we don’t believe that Jesus actually did this for us?

image

I’m going to venture to explain why I didn’t believe this for so long. There are several excuses. One was because no one else taught that, and when I finally saw through the eyes of the Spirit that we are indeed FREE from sin, those who were in the church longer than me repeatedly told me that I would always sin, that we would never be perfect. Quoting Romans 3:23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,. What they haven’t been taught, so they quote it as they have been quoted to, is that this passage is describing how there is no distinction between who receives the justification through their Faith. If you continue to verse 24 it says: being justified as a gift by His grace through redemption which is in Christ Jesus. Justified means to be acquitted, to be declared innocent, guiltless.

The key for this justification to take place is hidden in verse 22 ‘for those who believe, again not how verse 23 is ever quoted. I ask that you take the time to read Romans 3 today on your own asking the Holy Spirit of God to reveal to you the TRUE meaning as the what is written. This requires you to throw away everything, including this post, you have ever heard before. Go to it with no preconceived notions and simply allow God to speak to you. He is calling out His children. It is time for the Sons of God to be revealed.

Galatians 3:26,27 says For you are all sons of God through your faith in Christ Jesus. For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothes yourselves with Christ. If I have faith that Jesus took ALL of my transgressions, sins, out of my way then I an FREE to live without the fear of SIN. Why? Well because perfect LOVE casts out fear because fear means punishment, and I am free from ever being punished because there is no condemnation for those who are IN Christ Jesus, Romans 8:1 . I am a Daughter of God, and this means I am blameless before my Lord through the blood of Jesus Christ. He died once for ALL, when He returns He will not be removing sins again. He already did that. Our only requirement in this life is to BELIEVE IN THE ONE WHOM HE SENT. John 6:29

I know this is hard to believe that you can indeed live life perfect as Jesus, free from sin. That is why we require FAITH. Our eyes tell us we are still the same flesh, yet by FAITH we know that we have indeed died when Christ died, and through Gods Spirit are we raised to life. Romans 8:9-11 (read Romans 8)

So I leave you with a challenge. I challenge you to throw away everything you have ever learned, at least for today. Open your bible to the texts that I have suggested and ask God to reveal to you if indeed Jesus did take ALL your sins from you. To reveal to you the lies that you have believed that have kept you in bondage that you are unable to live a life without sin. Friends our God is a GOOD God, Jesus died ONCE, do not ask Him to die again because you don’t believe that His blood was enough. Be Free from sin. Be perfect as our Father in Heaven is perfect.

Leave a Reply

