Seek Him First 


But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Matthew 6:33 NASB 

If you’ve ever been pulled towards the world and then back to our Father you know how vital this passage is. It’s no coincidence that it’s placed after instructions about not worrying or serving two masters. 

Seeking God’s kingdom, which is within, is so vital to being able to ‘Do greater things’ as Jesus said we would. 

Seeking God’s Kingdom and righteousness FIRST doesn’t just mean first in the morning, although starting your day in His Presence is a sure way to face each day empowered and guarded within your mind. Seeking God’s Kingdom FIRST means before anything.

Important decisions for instance, even when we know where He’s guiding us, like we see Nehemiah do before he answers the King as to why his face is so lowly. (Nehemiah 2:3,4) 

We ought to Seek God First, why? Because like every other instruction that’s given to us there is a reward waiting for us in our obedience. 

“…and all these things will be added to you.” 

This morning when I read this immediately my heart jumped to 

And blessed us she who believed that there would be a fulfillment of what had been spoken to her by the Lord.” Luke 1:45NASB

Then my eyes moved over to the highlight in my Bible “For nothing will be impossible with God.” Luke 1:37NASB 

How beautiful is this? 

I don’t know what the ‘all these things’ will be but I know that it’ll be GOOD, because all good gifts come from above. And when I seek His Kingdom and Righteousness FIRST my heart is filled with contentment in whatever He chooses for me. 

Whatever path He guides me to. I know that I don’t have to worry about it. Because God is Good and He loves me. And you. 

Friends, Seek God’s Kingdom and His Righteousness FIRST. Trust that He has nothing but goodness for you. He loves you and desires for you to be One with Him. 

Remember who you are…. 

One thought on “Seek Him First 

Leave a Reply

